Sri Lankan president appoints news ministers into government

Source: Xinhua| 2017-05-31 16:16:25|Editor: ying
Video PlayerClose

COLOMBO, May 31 (Xinhua) -- Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena on Wednesday appointed four new ministers and three new deputy ministers into his government, the Information Department said.

Deputy Foreign Minister Harsha De Silva was re-appointed as the new deputy minister of national policies and economic affairs, while Deputy Minister of Public Enterprise Development Eran Wickremeratne was re-appointed as minister of finance.

Wasantha Senanayake was appointed as minister of foreign affairs.

Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena was appointed as minister of public enterprise development while Palitha Ranga Bandara was appointed as minister of irrigation.

Karunaratne Paranavitana was appointed as deputy minister of skills development.

Ranjan Ramanayake was appointed as deputy minister of social empowerment, welfare and Kandyan heritage.

"My congratulations to the four new state ministers and three deputy ministers, who received their appointments a while ago," President Maithripala Sirisena said in a message on his official twitter account.

The re-shuffle of the government took place just weeks after Siriena appointed nine new ministers.