World Athletics announces 20,000-USD bonus for its indoor tour

Source: Xinhua| 2019-12-17 04:00:54|Editor: yan
Video PlayerClose

NAIROBI, Dec. 16 (Xinhua) -- World Athletics on Monday announced prize of 20,000 U.S. dollars for the winners of its 2020 indoor tour, which begins next month.

The fifth edition of the indoor tour will kick off in Boston on January 25, with stops in Karlsruhe on January 31, Dusseldorf on February 4, Torun on February 8, Glasgow on February 15 before taking in the newest addition to the circuit, Lievin on February 19, and Madrid on February 21.

The seven-stop tour will see athlete's best three results count towards their point score, and the athlete with the most points in each discipline at the end of the tour will be declared the winner at the finale in Madrid and receive 20,000 dollars bonus.

The tour will culminate with China's Nanjing hosting the World Indoor Championships in March.

World 3,000 steeplechase champion Beatrice Chepkoech will renew her rivalry with America's Emma Coburn during the lucrative World Indoor Tour in Boston in January 2020.

Chepkoech, who is keen to compete at the World Indoor Championships in Nanjing, said that the absence of her traditional 3,000m steeplechase from the lucrative Diamond League has forced her to compete in the World Athletics Indoor tour.

"The plan is to run 1,500m at the World Athletics Indoor Tour," said Chepkoech on Monday.

Chepkoech, Sydney McLaughlin and Coburn are heading to Boston while Brianna McNeal and Amel Tuka are confirmed for Lievin.

Individual discipline winners from the 2019 World Indoor Tour have received direct tickets to World Indoor Championships in Nanjing.

They include triple jumper Yulimar Rojas and pole vaulter Anzhelika Sidorova. Other medalists from Doha, including world champions Donavan Brazier, Sam Kendricks and Tajay Gayle, appeared on the 2019 World Indoor Tour.

Kendricks has already confirmed his appearance in Dusseldorf, where he will clash with the two other medalists from the World Championships, Armand Duplantis and Piotr Lisek. Duplantis and Lisek have also been named in the pole vault field for Torun.

British stars Katarina Johnson-Thompson and Laura Muir are set to compete in Glasgow, while world long jump champion Malaika Mihambo and pole vault world record-holder Renaud Lavillenie are among the star attractions in Karlsruhe.