11 countries in touch with India to evacuate their nationals: official

Source: Xinhua| 2020-03-24 19:12:12|Editor: xuxin
Video PlayerClose

NEW DELHI, March 24 (Xinhua) -- Amid COVID-19 pandemic, governments of 11 countries have approached the Indian government to evacuate their citizens by operating special flights, an official in the Ministry of External Affairs confirmed with Xinhua on Tuesday.

The 11 countries are Israel, Malaysia, Germany, France, Britain, the Netherlands, Italy, Ukraine, Belgium, Peru and Afghanistan.

Officials from these countries are said to be in direct and regular touch with senior officials in various divisions of the Ministry of External Affairs, to decide on modalities and possibilities of evacuating their respective nationals from India.

According to media reports, Afghanistan planned to evacuate its over 2,500 nationals in India. An equal number of Nepalis and Bangladeshis were also in India and plans were being made regarding their evacuation.

Last week, the Indian government decided to provide the essential consular services by the office of the Foreigners Regional Registration Officers (FRROs) and Foreigners Registration Officers to foreign nationals currently in India.

The central government decided to extend till April 15 the regular visa and e-visa of those foreigners who are currently in India and unable to leave the country due to the COVID-19 pandemic.