Mongolian leaders cast votes in legislative elections

Source: Xinhua| 2020-06-24 19:22:38|Editor: huaxia

ULAN BATOR, June 24 (Xinhua) -- Mongolian Prime Minister Ukhnaa Khurelsukh, President Khaltmaa Battulga and Parliament speaker Gombojav Zandanshatar cast their votes in the regular parliamentary elections on Wednesday.

"Today is a holiday for us. We all are exercising our constitutional right to elect the parliament or State Great Hural, Mongolia's top legislative body," Khurelsukh told reporters after casting his vote, urging citizens to actively vote for their representatives.

The voting began from 7:00 a.m. local time (2300 GMT Tuesday), and will last for 15 hours at 2,070 polling stations across the country, according to the General Election Commission (GEC).

As of 12:00 p.m. local time (0400 GMT), more than 507,500 Mongolian citizens cast their votes. Voter turnout in the general elections reached 25.13 percent, said the GEC.

The Asian country's parliament is unicameral, consisting of 76 lawmakers with each serving a four-year term.

The landlocked country last held parliamentary elections in June 2016. Enditem