England eases self-isolation measures for passengers arriving from "lower risk countries"

Source: Xinhua| 2020-07-03 23:19:42|Editor: huaxia

LONDON, July 3 (Xinhua) -- Passengers returning from certain destinations, including France, Germany and Belgium, will no longer need to self-isolate when arriving in England, the British Department for Transport announced Friday.

The previously announced coronavirus regulations required passengers to self-isolate for 14 days when they return to Britain from a country outside the common travel area, which covers Britain, the Crown Dependencies (Bailiwick of Jersey, Bailiwick of Guernsey and the Isle of Man) and Ireland.

The British government said Friday that it is now safe to ease these measures in England and published a full list of countries and territories for which quarantine will not apply to people arriving back in England.

From July 10, unless they have visited or stopped in any other country or territory in the preceding 14 days, passengers arriving from countries and territories including France, Belgium, Denmark, Czech Republic, Germany, Italy, Spain, will not be required to self-isolate upon arrival into England.

This applies to all travel to England, by train, ferry, coach, air or any other route.

The government said it will keep the conditions in these countries and territories under review, and if they worsen it will not hesitate to reintroduce self-isolation requirements.

"Today marks the next step in carefully reopening our great nation. Whether you are a holidaymaker ready to travel abroad or a business eager to open your doors again, this is good news for British people and great news for British businesses," Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said in a statement.

Information for travel into Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland will be published in due course by the devolved governments. Enditem