Uganda's cabinet approves establishment of 9 cities

Source: Xinhua| 2019-05-22 15:22:06|Editor: xuxin
Video PlayerClose

KAMPALA, May 22 (Xinhua) -- Uganda's cabinet has approved the establishment of nine cities in different parts of the east African country in a bid to improve urban infrastructure construction, according to a government statement released on Tuesday.

The members of the cabinet on Monday agreed that the nine cities shall be established, namely Mbarara, Hoima and Fort Portal in western Uganda, Jinja and Mbale in the eastern region, Entebbe in the middle, and Gulu, Lira and Arua in the north, which will be created between 2020 and 2022, said the statement issued by official Uganda Media Center.

"The expected outcome of the creation of new cities is to increase urban infrastructure services like tarmac roads, improved waste management, and water services," the statement said.

The creation is also expected to increase local revenue and government fiscal transfers, as well as the employment rates.

The country currently has one city, its capital Kampala, located in the central part with a population of over 1 million.