Kenya skip first round of Africa qualifiers for 2022 FIFA World Cup

Source: Xinhua| 2019-07-30 03:06:59|Editor: Yurou
Video PlayerClose

NAIROBI, July 29 (Xinhua) -- Kenya is among the 26 teams that have been given a bye in the first round of the 2022 FIFA World Cup Africa qualifying campaign.

Confederation of African Football (CAF) said on Monday that the 14 preliminary round winners and the 26 countries who received byes will be split into 10 groups of four making 40 teams.

Whereas the first round matches will be held in September, the second round clash will be pushed to March 2020.

The teams that have been given a bye are Senegal, Tunisia, Nigeria, Algeria, Morocco, Egypt, Ghana, Cameroon, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Mali, Burkina Faso, South Africa, Guinea, Cape Verde, Uganda, Zambia, Benin, Gabon, the Republic of the Congo, Madagascar, Niger, Libya, Mauritania, Kenya, Central African Republic.

The draw, featuring the 28 less ranked teams, has pitted Burundi against Tanzania, two of the teams that participated in the just-ended AFCON and come from the East Africa region.

Qatar will host the 2022 FIFA World Cup.