DRC coalition gov't to include 65 members

Source: Xinhua| 2019-07-30 23:17:21|Editor: yan
Video PlayerClose

KINSHASA, July 30 (Xinhua) -- The political platforms of Congolese President Felix Tshisekedi and former president Joseph Kabila unveiled late Monday the size of the future government to be headed by Prime Minister Sylvestre Ilunga.

According to the document unveiled by representatives of two political groups, the coalition government will include 65 members including 48 ministers and 17 vice ministers, among which 42 posts for the FCC and 23 for the CACH. The Common Front for Congo (FCC) is the Kabila-aligned coalition parties and CACH is Tshisekedi's alliance.

There is also the creation of a monitoring committee of the measures of application of the joint program between the two political forces of the DRC, who have also reassured that the coalition government FCC-CACH will be formed soon and the names of its members are already submitted to the President of the Republic for appointment.

The DRC has already spent more than six months without a government since the arrival of President Felix Tshisekedi in power, and despite the appointment of the Prime Minister. Negotiations between the two parties often stalled on the sharing of key portfolio including the most important ministries including that of the Interior, Foreign Affairs, Justice, Budget, Finance and Defense.

In the agreement signed between CACH and FCC, former president Joseph Kabila retains control of the Ministry of Finance, Defense and Justice, which are part of the country's six sovereignty ministries under the DRC constitution.