Thailand's MP by-election secures victory for government party's candidate

Source: Xinhua| 2019-10-24 14:45:31|Editor: Shi Yinglun
Video PlayerClose

BANGKOK, Oct. 24 (Xinhua) -- Thailand's by-election of a Member of Parliament (MP) in a constituency near Bangkok on Wednesday secured victory for the candidate of a government party.

Unofficial results of Wednesday's by-election in Nakhon Pathom province brought the triumph to Phadermchai Sasomsap, a veteran MP running under the tickets of the Chartthaipattana Party.

Phadermchai won 38,765 votes, compared to 28,882 votes for Phairatthachoti Chantharakhachorn, who contested under the banners of the Future Forward Party, and 13,061 votes for Surachai Anutthato, who ran under the banners of the Democrat Party, according to officials of the provincial election commission office.

Phadermchai, defeated in the March general election in the same constituency covering Sam Phran district of Nakhon Pathom, acted as cabinet minister in previous governments over the last two decades.

The winning candidate is to replace former MP Jumphita Chantharakhachorn who resigned due to poor health.

Both the Chartthaipattana Party and the Democrat Party are part of the Prayut II coalition government whereas the Future Forward Party is with the opposition bloc in the parliament.