Daniel Ricciardo wins 2017 F1 Azerbaijan Grand Prix

Source: Xinhua| 2017-06-26 08:48:37|Editor: Mengjie

Red Bull's Australian driver Daniel Ricciardo (C) celebrates with his trophy during the award ceremony for the final race of the 2017 Formula 1 Azerbaijan Grand Prix in Baku, Azerbaijan, June 25, 2017. Ricciardo claimed the title of the event with 2:03:55.573. (Xinhua/Tofiq Babayev)

BAKU, June 25 (Xinhua) -- Red Bull driver Daniel Ricciardo won his first win of the 2017 Formula 1 campaign at the Azerbaijan Grand Prix here on Sunday, surviving an incident-filled race.

Valtteri Bottas of Mercedes came in second, followed by Lance Stroll of Williams.

Azerbaijan's President Ilham Aliyev presented the first place trophy to Ricciardo. The constructors' trophy was presented by Azerbaijan's First Lady Mehriban Aliyeva to the Red Bull team.

Ricciardo had a poor start but took full advantage of several safety-car stints and the numerous incidents to grab an unexpected win.

The 8th leg of the 2017 FIA Formula One World Championship - the Azerbaijan Grand Prix - started Friday in Baku. The 20 drivers contested just 51 laps on the second longest track on the calendar (6.003 km) with a total distance of 306.049 km being covered.

   1 2 3 4 Next