SCO's authority strengthening, growing every year: Kyrgyz president

Source: Xinhua| 2019-01-12 00:28:01|Editor: Mu Xuequan
Video PlayerClose

BISHKEK, Jan. 11 (Xinhua) -- The authority of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) is strengthening and growing every year, President of Kyrgyzstan Sooronbai Jeenbekov said Friday.

The president's press service reported that during a meeting devoted to the preparation for an SCO summit, which will be held in Bishkek in June this year, Jeenbekov recalled that in June 2018, at the Qingdao Summit in China, the chairmanship of the organization moved to Kyrgyzstan.

"We view the SCO as a platform for establishing mutual trust relations and developing cooperation. The authority of the SCO is strengthening and growing every year. The goal of the organization is the unity of the participating states, trusting partnership and mutual respect," the Kyrgyz president said.

He noted that a number of events were held in the relevant ministries and departments, such as meetings of the ministries of justice, heads of the accounting chambers, heads of border services, ministers of agriculture of the SCO member states, and the Council of Regional Anti-Terrorism Cooperation.

No less important events are ahead, such as meetings of the Security Council secretaries and the Council of Foreign Ministers, the SCO Council of Ministers of Defense, as well as cultural and humanitarian events, including an SCO media forum, a photo exhibition, an international marathon, a business forum.

The main event - the council of heads of the SCO member states is scheduled for June 14-15, 2019, the report said.

The Kyrgyz president noted that special attention should be paid to strengthening the authority of the SCO in the international arena, strengthening cooperation in the fight against terrorism, extremism and drug trafficking, and deepening political, trade, economic, cultural, humanitarian and investment cooperation.

SCO members include China, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.