Kipkorir, Changwony win 2019 Nairobi International Marathon

Source: Xinhua| 2019-10-27 23:53:00|Editor: Yurou
Video PlayerClose

NAIROBI, Oct.27 (Xinhua) -- Brimin Kipkorir and Purity Changwony won this year's men's and women's Nairobi International Marathon titles respectively.

Kipkorir stopped the clock at 2:10:42 to reclaim the title he last won in 2017 during the event that rarely produces repeat winners.

He finished ahead of Stephen Kipchirchir who emerged second in a time of 2:11:53 while Victor Serem settled for third position at 2:12:00.

"The race was good and the weather favored the runners. It is a refreshing performance considering that I am coming from an injury," said Kipkorir, adding that his next big race will be in February.

Changwony took the women's title in a time of 2:30:33, followed by Chemtai Rionotukei who took second place in 2:33:03 as Shelmith Muriuki finished in third place after she was timed 2:34:39.

"I did not expect to win this year's race but I was certain of making it to the podium. I will sit down with my coach and plan the next course of action," Changwony, who won the half marathon in 2015 said.

Both winners took home 2 million shillings (20,000 U.S. dollars) each for their effort after the prize money was increased from 15,000 dollars.