Eight countries face of in East Africa Junior tennis championship in Tanzania

Source: Xinhua| 2020-01-03 23:00:43|Editor: yan
Video PlayerClose

NAIROBI, Jan. 3 (Xinhua) -- Eight countries have confirmed participation in the East African Tennis Championships, which will be hosted in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania from Jan. 6-15.

Kenya, which will enter two teams, will have to showcase their best game if they are to overcome the hosts Tanzania, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Uganda, Burundi and Comoros in the annual tourney.

Tennis Kenya President James Kenani said the Kenya team is well prepared ahead of the week-long competition.

"The team has had good preparations under the guidance of coaches Peter Rakuom and Allan Saha. It is an important tournament and the players are looking forward to some tough competition as we lay our strategy for the season," said Kenani on Friday in Nairobi.

The Kenyan team, which departs on Monday for Dar es Salaam will comprise Girls Under-16 led by Kenya Open champion Angela Okutoyi, Roselida Asumwa, Alicia Owegi with the boys Under-16 having Brandon Sagala, Edmond Ogega, Raymond Riziki.

The girls Under-14 will be led by Faith Urasa, Melissa Mwakha, Mercyline Oresha while the boys Under-14 will have Liberty Baraka, Baraka Ominde and Gilbert Wechuli.

Okutoyi, the reigning Sports Personality of the year (Soya) most promising athlete, teamed up with Asumwa to win all their round-robin matches in the team event without dropping a set. Together with Owegi, the team beat both Tanzania and Rwanda 3-0 to finish top of the group last year.

In 2019, Kenya beat Rwanda, Tanzania, Burundi, Seychelles, and Comoros in identical scores of 3-0. In the 14 and under boys' category Kenya settled for the second position as Burundi proved tougher for the young trio of Raymond Riziki, Edmond Ogega and Liberty Kibue.

Kenya is also preparing to compete at the Davis Cup qualifiers against Indonesia in Jakarta in March with the winner securing promotion to the Level II.