Petro de Luanda named winners of canceled Girabola

Source: Xinhua| 2020-05-01 15:17:55|Editor: huaxia

LUANDA, May 1 (Xinhua) -- Petro de Luanda have been named champions of Angola's 2019/20 Girabola top division, after the country's FAF football governing body decided not to restart the suspended season amid the global COVID-19 pandemic.

The announcement was made here on Thursday at the end of a meeting between the FAF and members of the 15 clubs participating in the Girabola.

Petro de Luanda were leading the championship with 54 points from 24 games when the league was suspended in March, followed by 1 de Agosto who had 51 points but had played one game fewer.

The decision means that Petro have won Angola's top flight for the 15th time, and will compete in next season's CAF Champions League alongside 1 de Agosto, who have 13 Angolan title wins.

Angola's two representatives in next season's CAF Confederation Cup will be chosen from Interclube, Bravos do Maquis and Sagrada Esperanca, depending on their respective financial positions. Enditem