Rosenqvist wins 2017 FIA Formula E Berlin ePrix

Source: Xinhua| 2017-06-11 09:03:14|Editor: MJ
Video PlayerClose

BERLIN, June 10 (Xinhua) -- Mahindra Racing's Felix Rosenqvist has snatched his first career Formula E victory after winning the first race of the Berlin ePrix on Saturday.

Felix Rosenqvist has won the first race in Berlin's double-header at the Tempelhof Airport circuit after leaving ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport driver Lucas Di Grassi, who started from the pole position, behind on second position.

Di Grass caught a good start and was able to defend his pole position against Rosenqvist and Nick Heidfeld.

As the race progressed, Di Grassi worked out an advantage of 1.4 seconds over chasers Rosenqvist and Heidfeld.

However things changed midway through the 44-lap race as Rosenqvist came closer to overtake Di Grassi, who had temperature issues, in lap 22.

Rosenqvist kept his nerves and held the lead until the end although Di Grassi piled in the pressure.

Nevertheless, the Swede's maiden win was never at stakes as Rosenqvist crossed the finish line with an 2.2 second advantage, followed by Di Grassi and the second Mahindra Racing's driver Nick Heidfeld, who finished 3rd for the third time in row in Berlin.

With the result, championship leader Sebastien Buemi from Renault e.Dams remains atop the standings after finishing 5th with a total of 142 points, followed by Lucas Di Grass with 110 points and Renault e.Dams' driver Nicolas Gross with 64 points.