Nobel Peace Laureate criticizes Trump's decision on Iran nuclear deal

Source: Xinhua| 2017-10-14 03:25:52|Editor: yan
Video PlayerClose

GENEVA, Oct. 13 (Xinhua) -- The International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) on Friday issued a statement "strongly" criticizing the decision by U.S. President Donald Trump to withhold certification of the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) on the Iran nuclear issue.

As the 2017 Nobel Peace Laureate, the Geneva-based NGO said that President Trump's rejection of the JCPOA is an incitement to proliferation, makes achieving further agreements to rein in the nuclear threat more difficult, and increases global risk of nuclear use.

"The JCPOA is a demonstration of how well diplomacy can work, it reflects the urgent global imperative to eliminate nuclear weapons and the grave threat they pose," says the statement.

In time with great global tension, ICAN said, with increasing threats of nuclear war, the U.S. President is igniting new conflict rather than working to reduce the risk of nuclear war.

ICAN is a global campaign coalition working to mobilize people in all countries to inspire, persuade and pressure their governments to prohibit nuclear weapons.

U.S. President Donald Trump announced at the White House on Friday that he had decided to decertify Iran's compliance with the landmark deal reached in 2015 as he unveiled a new Iran strategy of his administration.

The decertification would not pull the United States out of the Iran nuclear deal at the moment, but it would open a 60-day window in which U.S. Congress could reimpose nuclear-related sanctions on Iran, a step which would mean the violation of the deal on the U.S. side.

During his speech on Friday, Trump called the Iran nuclear deal "one of the worst and most one-sided transactions the United States has ever entered into," and blamed Iran for committing "multiple violations of the agreement" and "not living up to the spirit of the deal."

The nuclear deal was reached between Iran and the world six powers of Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States plus Germany in July 2015.