Backgrounder: Manila - venue of 30th ASEAN summit

Source: Xinhua| 2017-04-29 10:51:08|Editor: ying
Video PlayerClose

MANILA, April 29 (Xinhua) -- The 30th Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) summit kicked off here on Saturday.

The following is a brief introduction of the Philippine capital.

Metropolitan Manila, commonly known as Metro Manila or simply Manila, is the capital region of the Philippines, the seat of government, the second most populous and the most densely populated region of the country.

The National Capital Region (NCR) is composed of Manila, the capital city of the country, Quezon City, the country's most populous city, and the cities of Pasay, Caloocan, LasPinas, Makati, Malabon, Mandaluyong, Marikina, Muntinlupa, Navotas, Paranaque, Pasig, San Juan, Taguig and Valenzuela, as well as the municipality of Pateros.

The NCR, with an area of 619.5 square kilometers, has a population of 12.8 million, making it the second most populous region in the Philippines, as well as the ninth most populous metropolitan area in Asia.

The region was established in 1975 in response to the needs to sustain the growing population and for the creation of the center of political power and the seat of the Philippine government.

The region is the center of culture, economy, education and government of the Philippines. NCR is one of the 12 defined metropolitan areas in the Philippines, according to the National Economic and Development Authority.

Designated as a global power city, NCR exerts a significant impact on commerce, finance, media, art, fashion, research, technology, education, and entertainment, both locally and internationally. It is home to all the consulates and embassies in the Philippines, thereby making it an important center for international diplomacy in the country.

Its economic power makes the region the country's premier center for finance and commerce. NCR accounts for 37.2 percent of the gross domestic product of the Philippines.