Ten nations to host 2019 Roland-Garros eSeries qualifying rounds

Source: Xinhua| 2019-02-12 20:17:06|Editor: Xiaoxia
Video PlayerClose

PARIS, Feb. 12 (Xinhua) -- The second edition of the Roland-Garros eSeries qualifying rounds will be launched in 10 different countries in February to decide participants in the international final, organizers announced on Tuesday.

Germany and the United States join the already eight countries from the 2018 line-up, including China, to host the eSport competition's qualifying rounds. The eight best players in each country's first qualifying phase will then come together in person to play a final qualifying round in their respective country. The winners of these national finals will be invited to represent their countries in the grand final, which will be played during the Roland Garros tournament to decide the winner.

"Following on from the enthusiasm shown for the first Roland-Garros eSeries by BNP Paribas, we wanted to go one step further this year with the second edition of this international e-tennis tournament, to offer fans and gamers the best possible experience," said Stephane Morel, Deputy CEO of the French Tennis Federation's Marketing and Business Development department.

For this second edition, the Roland Garros eSeries by BNP Paribas is forging new bonds with the tennis world by organizing certain national finals off-court at some of the ATP tour's tournaments.