Six host cities for Women's Volleyball Olympic Qualifiers confirmed

Source: Xinhua| 2019-04-30 22:30:04|Editor: Shi Yinglun
Video PlayerClose

BEIJING, April 30 (Xinhua) -- Bossier City in Louisiana, U.S. has been confirmed as the final host city for the 2019 FIVB Women's Volleyball Intercontinental Olympic Qualification Tournament.

A total of 24 national teams will take part in the qualifiers. They are divided into six pools, with the winner of each group granted a direct ticket to the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games.

Group A matches will be held in Wroclaw, Poland, with the host country set to face Serbia, Puerto Rico, and Thailand. Group B will play in the Chinese city of Ningbo, with Turkey, Germany, and the Czech Republic to face China. Bossier City will host games in Group C, which comprises the U.S., Argentina, Bulgaria and Kazakhstan.

Belo Horizonte in Brazil will host Group D games, with the host country facing Cameroon, Azerbaijan and Dominica. Matches in Group E will be held in Kaliningrad, Russia, also featuring South Korea, Canada and Mexico. And finally, Group F games will be played in Italy's southern city of Catania, with the Netherlands, Belgium and Kenya completing that group.

The 2019 FIVB Women's Volleyball Intercontinental Olympic Qualification Tournament will be held from August 2 to 4. The winner of each group will be among the first to guarantee a berth at the Olympic Games, joining Japan, who have qualified already as hosts.