Namibia names squad for Cosafa Cup

Source: Xinhua| 2019-05-22 22:58:59|Editor: huaxia
Video PlayerClose

WINDHOEK, May 22 (Xinhua) -- Namibia named 20 players for the upcoming 2019 Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) Cup from May 25 to June 8 in Durban, South Africa.

Namibia's coach Collin Benjamin said the squad mainly consists of home-based players, with Lloyd Kazapua, Sadney Urikhob, and Joslyn Kamatuka being the only foreign-based players.

Namibia is in Group B alongside with Mozambique, Malawi, and Seychelles and the winner of the group will face Zambia in the quarterfinal match set for June 2.

The squad:

Ratanda Mbazuvara, Lloyd Kazapua, Larry Horaeb, Charles Hambira, Vitapi Ngaruka, Ivan Kamberipa, Emilio Martin, Aprocious Petrus and Edmund Kambanda, Absalom Iimbondi, Aubrey Amseb, Dynamo Fredericks, Marcel Papama, Wesley Katjiteo and Llewelyn Stanley, McCartney Naweseb, Isaskar Gurirab, Junias Theophilus, Joslyn Kamatuka, Sadney Urikhob.

In 2018, Namibia lost 5-4 on penalties shoot-out to Zambia in the quarterfinals. Enditem