NBA to present 2 regular-season games in Mexico

Source: Xinhua| 2019-06-08 04:53:52|Editor: Yurou
Video PlayerClose

WASHINGTON, June 7 (Xinhua) -- The National Basketball Association (NBA) announced on Friday that the NBA Mexico City Games 2019 will feature the Dallas Mavericks, Detroit Pistons, Phoenix Suns and San Antonio Spurs playing two regular-season games, marking the first time that four NBA teams will play in Mexico in one regular-season.

The Mavericks and Pistons will play on December 12 and the Spurs will take on the Suns on December 14. These games, to be played at the Arena Ciudad de Mexico in Mexico City, will mark the 29th and 30th games in Mexico since 1992, the most NBA games held in any country and region outside the United States and Canada.

"NBA games in Mexico City are a core part of our efforts to reach and engage basketball fans throughout Mexico and Latin America. With a record four NBA teams visiting Mexico City next season, we expect an unprecedented level of interest and excitement around these games and our surrounding community events," said NBA Commissioner Adam Silver.

"We are thrilled to be one of the teams that plays internationally again this season. It is an honor to come back to Mexico City and showcase our game to these great fans," added Dallas Mavericks head coach Rick Carlisle.