Field completed for FIBA Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournaments

Source: Xinhua| 2019-11-18 11:02:32|Editor: ZD
Video PlayerClose

BEIJING, Nov. 18 (Xinhua) -- All 16 participants of the FIBA Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournaments 2020 have been confirmed following the conclusion of the Pre-Qualifying Tournaments in Asia-Oceania, Americas and Africa.

The 16 teams will contend for 12 Olympic spots next February through tournaments held in Belgium (Ostend), China (Foshan), France (Bourges) and Serbia (Belgrade).

China, South Korea, Japan and Australia progressed from Asia-Oceania Pre-Qualifying Tournaments. Mozambique and Nigeria claimed the two spots for Africa, while the Americas tournaments witnessed the United States, Brazil, Canada and Puerto Rico advance.

Top six finishers of the FIBA Women's EuroBasket 2019 have earned direct qualification for the FIBA Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournaments.

The 16 teams into the Olympic Qualifying Tournaments are Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Britain, Canada, China, France, Japan, Mozambique, Nigeria, Puerto Rico, Serbia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden and the United States.

The draw ceremony will take place at the FIBA headquarters on Nov. 27, 2019, with top three teams from each tournament, consisting of four teams apiece, qualifying for the Olympics.

FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup 2018 champions USA and the Olympic Games hosts Japan will play in the qualification tournaments, but will advance through to the Tokyo Olympics regardless of their results.