Uzbekistan extends suspension of flights with 7 countries over new COVID-19 variants

Source: Xinhua| 2021-01-11 21:35:04|Editor: huaxia

TASHKENT, Jan. 11 (Xinhua) -- Uzbekistan has extended the suspension of entry, exit and transit flights with seven countries until Feb. 1 after new coronavirus variants were detected in some of these countries, Uzbekistan's special anti-COVID-19 commission said Monday.

The Central Asian country has earlier barred air links with Britain, Italy, Denmark, Austria, Australia, the Netherlands and South Africa till Jan. 10.

"Due to the complexity of the epidemiological situation in the above-mentioned countries, the restriction period was extended by the decision of the Republican Special Commission until Feb. 1 this year," it said.

Citizens of these countries and stateless persons permanently residing in these states, as well as citizens of third countries who have visited these states within the last 14 days, are prohibited from entering Uzbekistan during the period of the restriction, the commission said earlier.

Uzbekistan currently has air links with a few foreign destinations, mostly in Russia, Turkey, Kazakhstan and the United Arab Emirates.

So far, Uzbekistan has registered 77,611 confirmed COVID-19 cases with 617 deaths. Enditem